#### Title 39 Motor Vehicle Statutes

"School bus" means every motor vehicle operated by, or under contract with, a public or governmental agency, or religious or other charitable organization or corporation, or privately operated for the transportation of children to or from school for secular or religious education, which complies with the regulations of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission affecting school buses, including "School Vehicle Type I" and "School Vehicle Type II" as defined below:

"School Vehicle Type I" means any vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, used to transport enrolled children, and adults only when serving as chaperones, to or from a school, school connected activity, day camp, summer day camp, summer residence camp, nursery school, child care center, preschool center or other similar places of education. Such vehicle shall comply with the regulations of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission and either the Department of Education or the Department of Human Services, whichever is the appropriate supervising agency.

"School Vehicle Type II" means any vehicle designed to transport less than 16 passengers, including the driver, used to transport enrolled children, and adults only when serving as chaperones, to or from a school, school connected activity, day camp, summer day camp, summer residence camp, nursery school, child care center, preschool center or other similar places of education. Such vehicle shall comply with the regulations of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission and either the Department of Education or the Department of Human Services, whichever is the appropriate supervising agency.

"School zone" means that portion of a highway which is either contiguous to territory occupied by a school building or is where school crossings are established in the vicinity of a school, upon which are maintained appropriate "school signs" in accordance with specifications adopted by the chief administrator and in accordance with law.

"School crossing" means that portion of a highway where school children are required to cross the highway in the vicinity of a school.

#### 39:3-19.2. School Vehicles

The Director of Motor Vehicles shall have the authority to issue upon application therefor a license plate for school vehicles marked "School Vehicle Type I" or "School Vehicle Type II" as the application may indicate is warranted in accordance with the definition of these vehicles contained in R.S. 39:1-1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, every registration for a school vehicle shall expire and the certificate thereof shall become void on the last day of the eleventh calendar month following the month in which the certificate was issued.

School vehicles for which school vehicle registrations had been issued prior to the effective date of this act and which expire June 30, 1982 shall be issued registrations which, in the director's discretion, shall expire on a date to be fixed by him, which date shall not be sooner than 4 months nor later than 16 months following the date of issuance of the registration. The fees for such registrations shall be fixed by the director in amounts proportionately less or greater than the fees established by this section.

No fee shall be charged the United States Government, the State of New Jersey, a local school district, a regional school district, or a county vocational or technical school upon application for a Type I or Type II school vehicle license plate.

All other applicants for license plates herein authorized of the "School Vehicle Type I" kind shall pay an annual registration fee of \$140.00. All other applicants for license plates herein authorized of the "School Vehicle Type II" shall pay an annual registration fee of \$40.00.

#### 39:3-77.1. National School Bus Chrome

No motor vehicle with a capacity of more than 16 passengers shall be painted National School Bus Chrome, unless that vehicle is used to transport children to or from school, or a summer day camp, or any school connected activity.

Whenever any motor vehicle with a capacity of more than 16 passengers, which has been used for the transportation of children to or from school, or a summer day camp, or any school connected activity, is no longer used for these purposes, it shall be repainted a color distinctively different from National School Bus Chrome.

## 39:3B-1. Electric identification and warning lamps

Every bus when being used to transport children to and from school pursuant to sections 18:14-8 to 18:14-12, inclusive, of the Revised Statutes shall be equipped with electric identification and warning lamps which, when such bus has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any school child, will exhibit a flashing red light plainly visible at such a distance as will enable the driver of a vehicle approaching or overtaking the bus to see the red light in sufficient time to bring the same to a stop within 10 feet of the bus. Such lamps shall meet the requirements prescribed by the State Board of Education, which requirements shall not be inconsistent with the provisions of this Title or any rule or regulation made pursuant thereto.

Nothing contained herein shall be construed to apply to any motorbus when carrying passengers for hire over any street or road and accepting and discharging indiscriminately such persons as may offer themselves for transportation either at the termini or points along the route on which it is being operated.

## 39:3B-1.1. School buses to be equipped with crossing control arm

Every school bus as defined under R.S.39:1-1, which was originally designed to carry 10 or more passengers and which is in operation on August 6, 1996, transporting public and nonpublic school pupils and every new or used such school bus purchased on or after that date to transport public and nonpublic school pupils shall be equipped with a crossing control arm at the right front corner of the bus. In each year subsequent to August 6, 1996, 50 percent of all school bus fleets in operation on that date owned by any agency, a board of education, a nonpublic school or a school bus contractor not already equipped with a crossing control arm shall be so equipped, provided that each vehicle used to transport elementary school students shall be given priority to be equipped with a crossing control arm in the first year following August 6, 1996. The arm shall open and extend out from the front of the bus at least 5 1/2 feet each time the bus door is opened.

## 39:3B-1.2 Reimbursement for retrofitting school buses with crossing control arm

Each agency, school district and nonpublic school that owns and operates its own school buses and each school bus contractor that operates school buses, as defined in section 1 of P.L.1996, c.96 (C.39:3B-1.1), shall receive reimbursement from the Department of Education in an amount up to, but not to exceed, \$300 per bus for retrofitting those school buses in operation on August 6, 1996, and an amount up to, but not to exceed, \$200 per bus for buses put into operation after that date for the cost of including the crossing control arm on those buses. If any agency, school district, nonpublic school or school bus contractor chooses to equip more than 50 percent of its school buses in any one year, it shall receive a maximum reimbursement for 50 percent of its school buses for that year. Reimbursement for retrofitting more than 50 percent of its school buses will be paid in the subsequent year based on a schedule to be determined by the commissioner, not to exceed two years.

#### 39:3B-1.3. Submission of list of vehicles, application for reimbursement

No later than 60 days after the effective date of P.L.1998, c.80 (C.39:3B-1.1 et seq.), each agency, board of education, nonpublic school and school bus contractor shall submit to the Commissioner of Education a list of all vehicles, as defined in section 1 of P.L.1996, c.96 (C.39:3B-1.1), that are used to transport students on August 6, 1996, including: the vehicle serial number; the year, make and license plate number as noted on the vehicle registration; and an indication as to whether the vehicle is currently equipped with a crossing control arm.

The owners of such vehicles may apply for reimbursement through the Department of Education in accordance with section 2 of P.L.1996, c.96 (C.39:3B-1.2) on an application form as the Commissioner of Education shall prescribe. The application shall be accompanied by a receipt for the purchase of the crossing control arm through an authorized dealer.

### 39:3B-2. Signs or legends displayed on bus

There shall be displayed on every bus subject to the provisions of section 1 of this act signs or legends which will, insofar as practicable, inform the driver of any vehicle concerning the duty imposed upon him by law with respect to passing such bus, while it is loading or unloading. Such signs or legends shall be in such color, form and design as will meet the requirements prescribed by the State Board of Education, which requirements shall not be inconsistent with the provisions of this Title or any rule or regulation made pursuant thereto.

## 39:3B-3. Information on back of certificates of approval

The Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles shall, at such times as in his discretion he shall determine, cause to be displayed upon the back of each certificate of approval designed for pasting upon the windshield of any motor vehicle, pursuant to chapter 8 of this Title, such information, as he may deem practicable and advisable, concerning the duty imposed by law upon the driver of any vehicle with respect to passing any bus referred to in section 1 of this act while it is loading or unloading.

#### 39:3B-4. Convex mirror or other device for observing road condition in front of bus

Every bus subject to the provisions of section 1 of this act shall be equipped with a mirror of the convex type, or such other comparable device as the State Board of Education may authorize or prescribe, which is affixed to the bus in such a manner that the seated driver may observe or otherwise ascertain through its use the condition of the road from the front bumper forward to the point where direct observation is possible. Such mirror or other comparable device, and its location on the bus, shall meet the requirements specified by the State Board of Education, which requirements shall not be inconsistent with the provisions of this Title or any rule or regulation made pursuant thereto.

#### 39:3B-5. Rules and regulations

The State Board of Education is hereby authorized to make rules and regulations not inconsistent with the provisions of this Title or any rule or regulation made pursuant thereto, concerning the construction, design, equipment, maintenance, operation and inspection of any bus subject to the provisions of section 1 of this act. Such rules and regulations shall be filed with the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles and, upon such filing, shall be enforced by the director in the same manner as all other rules and regulations made pursuant to this Title.

Nothing contained in this section shall be deemed to limit the existing authority of the State Board of Education to make rules and regulations governing the transportation of school pupils, pursuant to Title 18 of the Revised Statutes.

#### 39:3B-5.1. Duration of use of school buses

School buses, under the jurisdiction of the public schools and manufactured prior to April 1, 1977, other than those of the transit type whose gross vehicle weight (G.V.W.) exceeds 25,000 pounds, shall not be used for pupil transportation purposes beyond the end of the tenth year from the date of manufacture, as noted on the vehicle registration, or at the end of the school year in which that date falls, whichever is later. School buses manufactured on or after April 1, 1977, other than those of the transit type whose gross vehicle weight (G.V.W.) exceeds 25,000 pounds, shall not be used for pupil transportation purposes beyond the end of the twelfth year from the date of manufacture, as noted on the vehicle registration, or at the end of the school year in which that date falls, whichever is later.

#### 39:3B-5.2. Duration of use of school buses with gross vehicle weight over 25,000 pounds

School buses of the transit type whose gross vehicle weight (G.V.W.) exceeds 25,000 pounds shall not be used for pupil transportation purposes beyond the end of the twentieth year from the date of manufacture, as noted on the vehicle registration, or at the end of the school year in which that date falls, whichever is later.

## 39:3B-5.3. Inspection of school buses

School buses manufactured on or after April 1, 1977, when used beyond the tenth year, other than the transit type whose gross vehicle weight (G.V.W.) exceeds 25,000 pounds, shall have an annual in-depth inspection by the Division of Motor Vehicles prior to the beginning of the school year.

### 39:3B-5.4. Bus safety standards

A motor vehicle retired from use as a school bus as defined in R.S. 39:1-1 which is used to transport children or senior citizens to entertainment programs, recreational areas, sporting events, or camping activities shall not be used for those purposes unless the motor vehicle has met the safety regulations for school buses dealing with mechanical condition and body integrity adopted in accordance with the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L. 1968, c. 410 (C. 52:14B-1 et seq.) by the Department of Education, with the exception of school bus chrome yellow color and amber and red warning lamp system regulations. No motor vehicle retired from use as a school bus shall be required to meet the safety regulations for school buses adopted by the Department of Education other than those in effect for the class of vehicle of which the bus was a member on the date upon which the vehicle was last inspected prior to its retirement as a school bus.

#### 39:3B-6. Violations

Any person who willfully violates any provision of this act, or any rule or regulation promulgated pursuant thereto, shall be subject to a fine of not more than \$50.00 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 30 days, or both.

### 39:3B-7. Repeal

"An act concerning public school buses, and supplementing chapter 14 of Title 18 of the Revised Statutes," approved June 12, 1948 (P.L.1948, c. 133), is hereby repealed.

# 39:3B-8. Van type II school vehicle

As used herein "van type II school vehicle" is a vehicle transporting pupils, under the jurisdiction of a local board of education, manufactured after April 1, 1977, and having a pupil capacity of not less than 10 nor more than 16.

## 39:3B-9. Identification lettering, color and warning lights

In addition to owner identification, lettering shall be permitted on van type II school vehicles to identify the vehicles as school vehicles and all such vehicles shall be painted school bus yellow and equipped with warning lights.

With respect to any such vehicle transporting handicapped pupils, the national symbol for the handicapped may also be imprinted on the lower right side of the rear door.

## 39:3B-10. School bus seats, seat belts, child restraint systems, regulations

In addition to the requirements in Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 222 (49 CFR s.571.222) concerning school bus passenger seating and crash protection, each school bus as defined in R.S.39:1-1 shall be equipped with seats of a minimum seat back height of 28 inches, or 24 inches as measured from the seating reference point, and seat belts of the lap belt type for each seating position on the bus or other child restraint systems that are in conformity with applicable federal standards. The design and installation of seat belts or other child restraint systems that are in conformity with applicable federal standards shall conform to the regulations promulgated by the State Board of Education, in consultation with the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Law and Public Safety. The State board shall promulgate regulations, pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), for the design and installation of seat belts or other child restraint systems that are in conformity with applicable federal standards.

As used in this section, "seating reference point" shall be defined as the term is defined in 49 CFR s.571.3.

# 39:3B-11. Seat belts, child restraint systems, use required, liability

Beginning on September 1 of the second year next following the year of enactment of P.L.1992, c.92 (C.39:3B-10 et seq.), each passenger on a school bus which is equipped with seat belts shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt or other child restraint system that is in conformity with applicable federal standards at all times while the bus is in operation. Nothing in this section shall make the owner or operator of a school bus liable for failure to properly adjust and fasten a seat belt or other child restraint system that is in conformity with applicable federal standards for a passenger who sustains injury as a direct result of the passenger's failure to comply with the requirement established by this section.

# 39:3B-12. School bus emergency exits

A type I school bus when used to transport children to and from school, or to and from school-related activities, shall be equipped with emergency exits to conform with emergency evacuation standards to be prescribed by rule or regulation of the State Board of Education. The emergency exits shall at a minimum consist of a rear emergency door and two roof hatches.

#### 39:3B-13. Definitions relative to school buses fueled by liquified petroleum gas

As used in this act:

"Conventional fuel" means gasoline or diesel fuel;

"Governmental entity" means the State, any agency, authority, or employee thereof, or any political subdivision of the State, including but not limited to any county, municipality, or school district, or any agency, authority, or employee thereof;

"Liquefied petroleum gas" means LPG, butane, butylene, propane, or propylene, or other related or similar compounds commonly regarded to be liquefied petroleum gases as prescribed by rule or regulation adopted by the Department of Environmental Protection pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.); and

"School bus" means a school bus as defined pursuant to R.S.39:1-1.

## 39:3B-14. Use of liquified petroleum gas

- a. Liquefied petroleum gas may be used as an alternative fuel for a school bus instead of, in addition to, or in combination with a conventional fuel.
- b. A school bus may be equipped or converted to operate with liquefied petroleum gas as the sole fuel or in addition to or in combination with a conventional fuel.

### 39:3B-15. Equipping, conversion of school bus for operation using liquified petroleum gas

No school bus may be operated using liquefied petroleum gas as the sole fuel, or in addition to or in combination with a conventional fuel, unless the school bus has been equipped or converted for such use and is operated in accordance with (1) all applicable federal and State laws, rules, regulations, codes, standards, and guidelines pertaining thereto, including but not limited to any such rules, regulations, codes, standards, and guidelines that may be adopted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and (2) all applicable codes, standards, and guidelines established by the National Fire Protection Association for the storage, handling, and use of liquefied petroleum gas.

## 39:3B-16. Immunity from liability

- a. In any action brought for any injury or damages caused either directly or indirectly by the use of liquefied petroleum gas as the sole fuel, or in addition to or in combination with a conventional fuel, to operate a school bus, or the equipping or converting of a school bus to operate using liquefied petroleum gas as the sole fuel or in addition to or in combination with a conventional fuel, neither the owner or operator of the school bus nor any governmental entity may be found negligent in connection therewith if the school bus was equipped or converted, and operated, as required by section 3 of this act.
- b. The immunity provided by subsection a. of this section: (1) shall be in addition to any other immunity that may apply under the "New Jersey Tort Claims Act," N.J.S.59:1-1 et seq., or any other law, rule, or regulation; and (2) shall not apply if it is established that the act or omission causing the injury or damages constitutes gross negligence, recklessness, actual fraud, actual malice, willful misconduct, or criminal conduct.

## 39:3B-17. Rules, regulations

The Department of Environmental Protection, in consultation with the Department of Transportation, the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Transportation, and the Department of Education, may adopt, pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), any rules or regulations necessary to implement this act.

# 39:3B-18. Short title.

This act shall be known and may be cited as the "School Bus Enhanced Safety Inspection Act."

### 39:3B-19. Findings, declarations relative to school bus safety

The Legislature finds and declares that school bus safety is of paramount importance to the health and welfare of the school children of this State. The Legislature further finds that school buses are cited for safety violations during scheduled and random inspections at an unacceptably high level and that recent random school bus inspections conducted by the Division of State Police and the Division of Motor Vehicles found a high percentage of school buses operating with significant violations that warranted the removal of these vehicles from service.

The Legislature concurs with the findings of the Governor's School Bus Safety Task Force that it is appropriate and necessary to revise the existing system of in-lane inspections to a system of in-terminal inspections conducted by motor vehicle inspectors at the facility of the school bus operator. Such a system would provide insight into the carrier's overall operation and commitment to maintenance; allow interaction with the carrier's mechanics and operational personnel to facilitate the immediate repair of vehicles; provide a mechanism for the audit of a carrier's maintenance records, including daily defect slips, vehicle history records, and driver history and credential records; and, insure the timely inspection of all school buses.

#### 39:3B-20. Definitions relative to school bus safety

As used in this act:

"Director" means the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Transportation;

"Division" means the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Transportation;

"In-terminal inspection" means an inspection conducted by the Division of Motor Vehicles at the operator's terminal of any motor vehicle required to meet the safety regulations for school buses adopted by the Department of Transportation pursuant to R.S.39:3B-5 and P.L.1986, c.92 (C.18A:3B-5.4) and vehicle emissions standards established for engine type pursuant to R.S.39:8-2 and section 3 of P.L.1995, c.157 (C.39:8-61);

"Operator" means the owner or person responsible for the day to day operation and maintenance of school buses;

"School bus" means all Type I and Type II school buses as defined in R.S.39:1-1 and school buses retired pursuant to P.L.1986, c.92 (C.39:3B-5.4), under the jurisdiction of the division.

## 39:3B-21. Establishment of school bus enhanced safety inspection program

- a. The chief administrator shall establish a school bus enhanced safety inspection program which shall include, but not be limited to, the following elements:
  - (1) an in-terminal school bus inspection program which provides for the semi-annual or annual inspection of school buses by commission inspectors;
  - (2) standards and requirements pertaining to the equipment, maintenance, and repair of school buses subject to inspection pursuant to this act; all in-terminal inspections, including those involving diesel vehicles, shall include an emission inspection to determine whether that vehicle meets the State's emission specifications and standards;
  - (3) standards and requirements pertaining to the establishment and maintenance of school bus maintenance, repair, and inspection records for all school buses in the operator's fleet; and
  - (4) standards and requirements pertaining to the establishment and maintenance of driver employment records, including records which demonstrate a driver's compliance with all statutory and regulatory requirements for authorization to operate a school bus, and any other records and credentials deemed necessary by the chief administrator for school bus drivers employed by the operator. The records shall be made available to commission inspectors during each in-terminal inspection.
- b. If an operator does not have adequate terminal facilities to allow for a proper and thorough in-terminal inspection, the chief administrator shall designate an in-lieu-of terminal site and direct the operator to present his buses and records to that site for inspection on such terms and conditions as determined by the chief administrator.
- c. The time and location of any inspection or reinspection conducted pursuant to this section shall be determined by the chief administrator. Unless an owner agrees to a different time schedule, the chief administrator shall schedule a reinspection within three days of the date of the inspection that necessitated the reinspection.

#### 39:3B-22. Violations, penalties

a. Any operator who violates the standards for driver employment records established pursuant to subsection a. of section 4 of this act, or who fails to retain proper records for inspection as required, or who fails to make available any record or document required at the time of inspection, or who falsifies any record, or who fails to present or otherwise make available any school bus or buses due for inspection, as requested by an examiner, unless notification of the intent to withhold a bus or buses from an examiner is made in writing at least 24 hours prior to the scheduled inspection, shall be fined not less than \$50 and not more than \$500 per violation, in accordance with a schedule of fines to be established by the director. The director shall waive the requirement of notice upon a showing of good cause by an operator. A bus withheld from an examiner pursuant to this section shall be inspected within 30 days of the date of the originally scheduled inspection, unless otherwise agreed by the operator and the director. The operator shall be responsible for all fines.

Nothing in this subsection shall be deemed to preclude any other enforcement actions provided by law.

b. Any fine imposed pursuant to the provisions of this section may be collected, with costs, in a summary proceeding pursuant to "the penalty enforcement law," N.J.S.2A:58-1 et seq. The Superior Court or municipal court of the county or municipality in which the violation occurs or in which the operator resides or has a place of business or principal office in this State, shall have jurisdiction to enforce the provisions of "the penalty enforcement law" in connection with any violation of this act.

The director or any duly authorized representative of the director may issue a summons and complaint returnable in any court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of this act or any rule or regulation adopted pursuant to this act. A municipal, county, or State prosecutor is authorized to assist the director in the enforcement of this act. The director may institute an action in the Superior Court for injunctive relief to prevent or restrain any violation of this act, or any rule or regulation adopted, or any administrative or judicial order issued, pursuant to this act.

c. Any officer charged with the enforcement of State and municipal laws is authorized to assist the director or any duly authorized representative of the director in the enforcement of the provisions of this act, or any rule or regulation adopted, or any administrative or judicial order issued, pursuant to this act.

### 39:3B-23. Removal from service upon failure of inspection

Any school bus that fails an inspection based on out-of-service criteria as established by the director shall be immediately removed from service.

## 39:3B-24. Rules, regulations

The director shall adopt, pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), rules and regulations to implement the provisions of this act, including the schedule of fines required pursuant to section 5 of this act and the out of service criteria required pursuant to section 6 of this act.

#### 39:3B-25. Use of cell phone prohibited while driving school bus, exception; fines

- a. It shall be unlawful for the driver of a school bus, as defined in R.S.39:1-1, to use a cellular or other wireless telephone while operating the school bus.
- b. The prohibition contained in subsection a. of this section shall not apply:
  - (1) when the school bus is parked in a safe area off of a highway; or
  - (2) in an emergency situation.
- c. A person who violates this section shall be fined not less than \$250 or more than \$500.
- d. No motor vehicle points or automobile insurance eligibility points pursuant to section 26 of P.L.1990, c.8 (C.17:33B-14) shall be assessed for this offense.